Refined style (or Slummy Mummy to Yummy Mummy)

Howdy.  Sorry, it’s been a while.  Uh, blame the ADD?

This week I’ve become a leeeetle bit obsessed with the idea of a capsule wardrobe, along with Seasonal Colour Analysis.  It hit home when I went to a music class with DD last week.  I walked into a room of well-dressed, stylish mummies, looked down at my saggy jeans and once-white-now-grey cardigan and thought, “Mmm.  Feeling kinda crappy here….”

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t go in for the whole best dressed, most preened, designer boots, mummy-cpmpetition rubbish.  I’m not skinny enough for starters.  And it’s not that I felt they were better than me because they were well dressed.  It’s more about feeling smart, not scruffy; wearing clothes that fit, not them wearing me or irritating me because they need to be pulled up or adjusted constantly; being able to just grab stuff in the morning and throw it on, know ing it all goes together.  Mostly about the scruffy though.

I feel really rubbishy if I feel scruffy.  Probably a whole lot to do with body-confidence issues, but at the end of the day, if feeling comfortable in your clothes and having an easy, defined style makes you feel confident, it all helps.  Especially during a period – ie. motherhood – that can leave many women feeling unconfident and a little bit lost.  It can also help you claw back that bit of yourself that you often feel gets drowned under ‘being mama’.

I’m 100% guilty of the whole ‘wardrobe full of clothes, nothing to wear’ syndrome (trained by my shopaholic mother).  Buy it cheap, buy lots, realise it doesn’t go with anything else later.  So a capsule wardrobe sounds like h-e-a-v-e-n to me.  The idea is that you have basic, key pieces which all go together.  So from say three bottoms, three tee-shirts, one cardigan, one jumper and one dress you can have…uh…um…(hang on, I’ve run out of fingers)…uh, many outfits!  Gok Wan seized on the idea not too long ago, with his 24 piece wardrobes (although that included handbags and shoes.  Step a-way from the bags Wan, you ain’t culling them in my lifetime).

Between 12 and 16 basic pieces seems to be the usual advice.  These consist of two (sometimes three) neutral colours and two or three ‘toning’ colours.  This blog explains it particularly well.

Black and white are sometimes advocated as neutrals, but the more professional advice (from people who do it for a living) seems to be that these are usually far too harsh for most people’s colouring, so neutrals such as brown, navy, cream, beige, taupe (what IS that anyway?), and grey are suggested instead.

Which is where the Seasonal Colour Analysis comes in.  This is a whole new level of online research obsession for me –  I was already a bit too caught up in the whole ‘capsule wardrobe reading’ stuff (what with being 20 weeks pregnant, on a very tight budget and having an 18 month in tow, real shopping, in actual shops, is something of a fantasy at the moment).  Learning about colour analysis has taken the Googling-obsession to a worrying level.

Again, the idea: your colouring (skin, hair, eyes) can be described by one of the four seasons – autumn, winter, summer, spring.  Winter and summer are cool – pink or blue undertones – while spring and autumn are warm – golden or peachy undertones.  Now obviously it’s a lot more complex than that, but that’s the basic starting point.  The seasons are then broken down further, into Light, Clear and Deep.

For a quick n dirty guide, this quiz gives you a rough idea of your season. Remember, it’s your natural colouring that you need to think about, not the black hair dye you just slathered on or the fake tan that makes you look warmer than a summer’s day in Arizona.  This site and this one give you more detailed information.  And this one, well it has the prettiest layout and most helpful palettes.

So tomorrow, I’m off to the thrift stores (I know, it sounds so much nicer than the charity shops somehow!) to find me a biker jacket in a light summer tone. Start small, hey?

Leave a Reply

