No ‘poo: Days 4 – 6

Day 4:

Wash:  *gulp* – Water only

Rinse: 1 pint tea (1 chamomile & 1 peppermint teabag), 1 tsp honey

Result: Hair is definitely softer and still clean.  The greasy feel has completely gone, but it still feels a little dry – it is hard to run my fingers through the finer hair at the front.  It is still quite flat-looking.

Notes: Chamomile is good for softening and lightening hair.  Honey is a good moisturiser (use some on your face then rinse off – it’s gorgeous!) – just make sure you rinse well to avoid any residual stickiness.  To combat the dryness, I run a little aloe vera gel through it before bed, which helps.

Day 5:

Wash: 1 pint chamomile tea, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp honey, 1 tsp white vinegar

Rinse: GF as before

Result: Wow!  This is a very good hair day.  My hair is clean, soft, with no trace of greasiness or dryness.  My usual volume has returned.  I am really, really pleased with how it looks and feels.

Notes: I can’t believe I’ve gone without shampoo for five days and don’t have a trace of the itchies, flakes, smell, grease…anything!  I used to wake up with blood under my fingernails from scratching in my sleep if I went more than one day without ‘poo and conditioner.  I’m completely stunned.  And very overexcited!

I used salt because sea salt is suggested as an alternative to BS for those who don’t get on with it (sea salt rather than table, because you don’t want the anti-caking agents in there).  White vinegar is an alternative to ACV and is usually an acid rinse, but it also acts as a water softener, so I thought I’d chuck it in.

Actually, those last seven words pretty much sum up all my recipes – food-wise and cosmetics-wise.

Day 6:

Wash: 1/2 pint water. 1/2 pint flat beer, 1 tsp honey, 1 tsp salt

Rinse: GF

Result: Mmm…stroke-able.  Fantastic hair again.  Clean, soft, light, shiny, bouncy, volume…it’s lovely.  I reckon there’s a faint beer whiff, but Hubby swears he can’t smell it (although that might be like asking a pig if they can smell muck!)

Notes: Yeah, I know, it seems a bit of random wash concoction today.  Hubby left half a glass of beer sitting on the side last night and having read that beer is great for restoring shine to hair, I pounced and declared it mine in the name of science.  Luckily Hubby is one of the few people who don’t consider my ‘natural’ forays slightly mad, so he managed not to laugh.  Usually you just do a beer rinse, but I’m still finding it hard to give up on the idea of having some kind of cleaning agent in there (salt).  And the honey?  I just gotta thing for it.

Leave a Reply

